Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

With 2012 coming to a close, I wanted to reflect on my reading this past year.  I started out the year wanting to read at least 50 books. I felt this was a reasonable goal with roughly one book a week with two week buffer just in case.  Not only did I reach that goal, I blew it out of the water.  I decided to up my goal to 75.  I finished the year with a final total of 86 books. (Even if you remove the bridge novellas, my total would be 79.)

Being the complete nerd that I am, I took this opportunity to break down the books I’ve read into several graphs.  (Yay for graphs!)

First up, I looked at the genre of book.  Since 99% of the books are young adult I decided to go with my own guidelines for genre categories.  I felt my reading spectrum (books and bridge novellas) are best represented by the following categories:

ChickLit: books with no magic, vampires, or ghosts. Not based on fairytales.  Mostly high school strife and other assorted girl drama problems.

Vampires: books may include other paranormal beings however vampires are the main topic or the plot centers around vampires.

Paranormal: stories with mystical qualities such as ghosts, magic, or unexplained phenomena are classified in this category. Books based on fairytales are not included.

Dystopian: books that take place either in the past, present or future in a post-apocolyptic world.  May or may not contain zombies.  This includes books with high levels of science fiction.

Fantasy & Fairytales: books based on classic fairytales and unicorns.  Not that I read any books about unicorns.  But I’m open to the idea.

Historical Fiction: fiction books that take place during a specific period in history.  These books do not have magic or paranormal events outside of the historically documented beliefs people of that time had. (e.g., Salem witch trials.)

Non-Fiction: books about real stuff. Seeing as how I live in the real world, this is this smallest category!

books by theme

As you can see Dystopian books dominate my reading.  My preference for reading at this time are books about survival, zombies and the constriction of resources.  Water Wars and Breathe are two books that come to mind, which revolve around the idea that water and air (respectively) and are not readily available.

The second graph I wanted to create was a count of books by month.  The year was slow to start as I was reading the Maze Runner trilogy as the second and third book were very slow paced.  Once I got through those two books the reading became much easier.  I also made a graph that shows how many pages per month I read.

books by count

Books Read by Month

books by pages

Books Read by Page Count

And since I know that a handful of the books only have between 30-70 pages, I wanted to compare the monthly book count versus the amount of pages read:

book by pages/count

Monthly Book Count versus Page Count

Finally, some quick stats:

Most read authors:

  • PC Cast – 12 books
  • Caragh M. O’Brien – 5 books
  • Anna Godberson – 4 books
  • Lauren Oliver – 4 books
  • Scott Westerfeld – 4 books
  • Lauren DeStefano – 3 books
  • Lisa McMann – 3 books

This being said, I want to make sure I say: The House of Night series by PC Cast is an awful series.  The only reason I kept reading it was because I wanted to know what happens to the main character. I kept hoping she would die.  Otherwise I would have stopped after the second or third book.  I still can’t believe I tormented myself with twelve of her books.

Favorite Series: The Chemical Garden Trilogy by Lauren DeStefano

Favorite Book: Ready Player One by Ernest Cline & Divergent by Veronica Roth

Series I’m Waiting to Conclude Before I Start:

  • Unwind by Neal Shusterman
  • Glitch by Heather Anastasiu
  • Article 5 by Kristen Simmons
  • Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi
  • The Bar Code Tattoo by Suzanne Weyn
  • Legend by Marie Lu
  • XVI by Julia Karr

Series I’m Dying to Finish NOW:

  • The Chemical Garden Trilogy by Lauren DeStefano
  • The Selection by Keira Cass
  • Matched Trilogy by Ally Condie
  • Divergent by Veronica Roth
  • Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Books I’ve Been Meaning to Read All Year and Didn’t:

  • World War Z by Max Brooks
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
  • Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote

Biggest Disappointment:

  • The Vow: The Kim & Krickitt Carpenter Story by Kim Carpenter
  • Beneath the Glitter by Elle & Blair Fowler

Biggest Surprise, the story completely exceeded my expectations:

  • Birthmarked Trilogy by Caragh M. O’Brien
  • Flash Point by Nancy Kress

You can also check out this page for a complete list of books I read this year.  Or you can click here for a list of books by series.

Let me know if there’s anything you think I missed!

